Carol Stokes from Barwell & Herbie Lloyd from Hinckley, Leicester, win Churchill National Lollipopper Awards

Alison Hammond and Churchill Insurance celebrate the vital role of Lollipoppers across the UK with the Lollipopper of the Year Awards 2016

To coincide with National Lollipopper Day, 29th November, the five award winners have been announced, as well as the highly commended runners up


29th November 2016 – Today marks the first National Lollipopper Day to celebrate the amazing Lollipop men and woman across the UK. To coincide with this special day, Churchill Insurance announces the winners of its inaugural National Lollipopper Awards, honouring the hard working Lollipoppers keeping children safe on the school run. 


Alison Hammond opened the nominations last week, giving parents and children across the country the chance to tell Churchill why their local Lollipopper should win one of four special awards:


Over and Above – the dedicated Lollipopper that goes beyond the call of duty to help children, parents, their school and the local community.


Bravest – for the Lollipopper that has shown courage and bravery on the crossing – Super Lollipopper! 


Entertainer – for the Lollipopper that always puts a smile on everyone's face – the life and soul of the crossing!


Kindest – for the Lollipopper with the biggest heart – generous, kind, caring and always on the crossing with a smile!


Lollipopper of the Year– the most prestigious award for the best all round Lollipopper.

After a tough decision by Churchill's expert judging panel; Alison Hammond, Churchie, Mike Bristow from road safety charity Brake, Emma Williams executive director at PTA UK and Carrie Longton co-founder of Mumsnet, the winners and highly commended shortlisted Lollipoppers have been announced.


Lollipopper of the Year– The Winner of the award goes to Carole Stokes from Barwell Infant School in Leicester. The overall celebrated Lollipopper was chosen from the shortlist of the highly commended Lollipoppers.


Entertainer – The Winner of the award goes to Herbie Lloyd from Battling Brook Primary School in Hinckey, Leicester. The highly commended Lollipoppers in the category were Carole Stokes and Sharon Salter.


Kindest – The Winner of the award goes to Linda Robertson from Morley Newlands Academy in Leeds. The highly commended Lollipoppers in the category were Martin Smith and Carole Stokes.

Bravest – The Winner of the award goes to Elaine Hockley from St. George's Bickley CE Primary School in Bromley, London. The highly commended Lollipopper in the category was Samantha Martin.


Over and Above – The Winner of the award goes to Bettie Ealand from Tewkesbury CE Primary School in Gloucestershire. The highly commended Lollipoppers in the category were Patricia Lunney, Linda Robertson and Sarah Gabriel.


Each of the four category winners received a bespoke Churchill Lollipopper Awards trophy to mark their achievement as well as a £500 holiday voucher to treat themselves to a well-deserved break during the upcoming school holidays.


On the winners, Alison Hammond said: "It's been a difficult decision to choose the overall category winners, as we had such a fantastic response from parents and children all keen to celebrate their hardworking Lollipoppers. I wish we could reward all of them for the time and effort they put into keeping our children safe on the school run!"


The most prestigious title up for grabs was the Lollipopper of the Year, won by Carole Stokes in Barwell, Leicester. The celebrated Lollipopper was chosen from the shortlist of the highly commended Lollipoppers, this week Alison Hammond and the school children of Barwell Infant School surprised the Carole with her award whilst at work.


Alison said, "Surprising Carole whilst at work was such a blast. It was so hard to choose the overall Lollipopper of the Year, as there were so many fantastic entries, but Carole stood out as a real star and pillar of the local community. The children and I were very excited to be able to reward her and it's so fantastic to see the love and support she receives from the school and parents. It was such an emotional morning!"


Carole Stokes has worked as a Lollipopper for two and a half years and described receiving the honour: "Wow! I feel very privileged to have been nominated by the wonderful children and families of Barwell and it's so touching to have won!" her favourite part of being a Lollipopper is seeing all the children each morning and getting to know the parents, she states that, "Every day is special!"

Head Teacher Mrs. Sarah Carey of Barwell Infant School describes Carole as someone who"brightens up everybody's day each and every day with her smile, cheer and of course her flip flops and bright pink hair!!! Whatever the weather her love and care for the children and the whole Barwell community shines through."


Herbie Lloyd from Battling Brook Primary School won the Most Entertaining Lollipopper of the Year. He has worked as a Lollipopper for ten years and his daughter also went to the school. He described receiving the honour: "I love being a part of the community and being able bring a little entertainment to the children and parents each day on their school run, whilst keeping them safe. My favourite part of the job is seeing the children safely across the road. It is wonderful to have been recognised for this award, it makes me feel very appreciated and valued."


Mr. Stewart Marsden, Head Teacher of Battling Brook Primary School said:"It is so exciting for Herbie to be recognised for his hard work and commitment. He is a key part of the school day for many of the children and he's always there to welcome them in the mornings and see them safely home at the end of a busy day of learning."


The National Lollipopper Awards are part of Churchill Insurance's drive to improve safety on the school crossing by deploying more of the iconic crossing wardens. The campaign follows research by Road Safety Analysis in 2016 that over half (55%) of accidental child pedestrian casualties occur during the school run.


Lucy Brooksbank, head of marketing at Churchill, said; "The first Churchill Lollipopper of the Year awards have been a huge success with hundreds of nominations flooding in from across the country. We hope this will help highlight the value Lollipoppers bring to our communities and the hard work these incredible people do."


To support Churchill's Lollipopper camping and find out how you can become a Lollipopper, please visit:


Share the Lollipopper love on Twitter and Facebook by following @ChurchillTheDogand using #Lollipoppers or on Facebook at